Banksias

Banksias are another iconic Australian Plant / Shrub / Tree.   I really like the variation in colour, shape and size that the different variations develop.  I will admit from the outset I am not much of a gardener and for me flowers are about texture, shape and colour.  I don’t know much about the species but I think both the Banksias photographed are probably hybrids from Western Australia whereas I live on the eastern side of the continent.

I must admit I brought both of these varieties at my local market with the express intention to photograph them.  Again, I used my Macro flash on some of the images.  For others I also added a speedlight off camera from the side to build some shadows.   I also enjoy taking long exposures and there are a number of images here I have also used this technique.

All photos were taken with a Canon 100mm F2.8L IS USM Macro lens mounted  on a tripod with a lens collar.  My camera is a Canon 5D MkII and I also used a cable release.

Leave a comment