Russell Falls National Park Tasmania

When I was growing up it was known as National Park.  I am not sure why.  Even my grandmother who grew up ‘down the road’ at Glenora knew it as National Park.  Of course there are many other in Tasmania, depending on how count it about 25% of the state is set aside.

Like many of  the temperate rainforests that ‘dot’ the state, it is overwhelmingly green and moist and my photos represent this.  These photos were taken a little while ago and in period of lowish rainfall so both Russell and Horseshoe Falls were not running particularly fast but nevertheless it was a great place to take photos.

All of these photos were taken with a 5DMkii and a 24-105f4L IS USM lens (the kit lens).  I also used a tripod, a cable release and a polarising filter in a couple of cases.  While the light was a challenge, in places at least, the contrasts between the highlights and the dark and the way light falls added to the overall mood of pictures.

Leave a comment